Chuck Wendig is an actual, published (the old fashioned way, with a publishing house) author. You may have read his books. If not, I suggest you check them out if you’re into geeky books (I’m not even sure what that means anymore). He also has an active, informal blog in which he tends to ramble in posts, unlike his published fiction. I find the posts entertaining. He also hosts writing challenges. For what it is worth, some of my best writings stem from his challenges (she says, slowly unlocking a few of the hidden posts).

He recently posted a challenge regarding a theme. I found it an interesting concept. It is speaking to me, probably for completely obvious psychological reasons, considering the recent, repeating circumstances. I don’t know if I’ll get around to writing anything by the deadline of September 22, but I suspect I’ll write something about it, sometime. Perhaps from my cardboard carton home, under the bridge, where my cat and I are huddling (and I’m contemplating how many meals I can make from his skinny-assed carcass should it come to that), in the depths of a New England winter while I continue to ponder unemployment. I write with a charred wooden twig on the back of a food wrapper.

I digress.

Wendig’s challenge theme is, “To fix something, you first must break it.”

Because I argue nit-picky things with everything, I have to say I don’t quite agree with the wording “you first must break it.” Somebody else could have broken it. It could have been created broken. Maybe it isn’t broken at all, but you still think you are fixing it by changing it. At its basis though, I agree with it. If something gets fixed then it was broken or imagined to be. You can’t fix what isn’t broken. Don’t fix what isn’t broken. Are there other sayings along the same line? I dunno. Google it.